Nokia T20 Champions League in South Africa

South Africa will host this year’s Champions League Twenty20 cricket tournament in October.

Cricket South Africa says fixtures and venues will be announced later on Thursday but the fourth edition of the tournament will likely start on Oct. 12. South Africa also hosted the event in 2010.

Organizers said this month that the 10-team event would feature three sides from India and two each from Australia and South Africa. Domestic T20 winners from Sri Lanka, New Zealand, West Indies, Pakistan and England would play off in a qualifying series before the main tournament for the remaining three places.

Indian Premier League champion Kolkata Knight Riders, runner-up Chennai Super Kings and third-place Delhi Daredevils have qualified alongside Australia’s Sydney Sixers and Perth Scorchers and South Africa’s Highveld Lions and Nashua Titans.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.