purtassi pravasan pillay

ANC To Discipline Anti-Zuma Party Members

The ANC will not hunt down MPs who voted in favour of a motion of no confidence against President Jacob Zuma‚ but will discipline party members who have confirmed voting with the opposition.

pravin gordhan

This was revealed by party secretary general Gwede Mantashe‚ who told the media on Tuesday that those who kept their vote a secret not face any charges.

Mantashe was speaking after a meeting of the party’s national working committee where the matter is said to have dominated discussions.

“There is not going to be a witch hunt. We are not going to do that. (But) where MPs go up and confirm‚ we’ll have to deal with that situation.”

Former finance minister Pravin Gordhan, former tourism minister Derek Hanekom and senior ANC MPs Makhosi Khoza and Mondli Gungubele had publicly stated that they would vote with their conscience.

Mantashe said the ANC sees the outcome of last Tuesday’s historic motion as neither a “victory or defeat”.

For the first time since winning power, an estimated 30 to 40 ANC members of parliament supported a motion brought forward by the opposition.

“We don’t call it a victory because there are ANC MP’s who voted with opposition – but we acknowledge it [the motion] was defeated,”  Mantashe said.

Although Mantashe refused to reveal the names of the MPs the party would discipline‚ outspoken ANC MP Makhosi Khoza has already confirmed she voted to remove Zuma.

Mantashe also revealed that the ANC would take action in the matter involving higher education deputy minister Mduduzi Manana.

Source: TimesLIVE, News24

About Indianspice Staff Reporter

Report and write stories for Indianspice.co.za. It is our ambitious goal to cover issues/events/news concerning South Africa and the diaspora.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *