Jack Devnarain
Jack Devnarain aka Rajesh on Isidingo

Isidingo Actor Jack Devnarain For SABC Board

Parliament’s portfolio committee on communications has drafted the 36 man shortlist to be interviewed for a position on the permanent SABC board. While the list contained a lot of highly esteemed media professionals, one name might have caught the eye of everyday South Africans who consume media but don’t make it.

Jack Devnarain
Jack Devnarain aka Rajesh on Isidingo

Democratic Alliance MP Phumzile van Damme said they first want to do their own research on each candidate and that parliament should publish the CVs of all those shortlisted.

“Civil society must also be able to comment on those candidates‚” said Van Damme.

The ANC’s Lerumo Kalako said he agreed with proposals on time limits and the number of shortlisted candidates.

“I agree with the proposal. Let’s look at around 36 names. Each member must be allowed to choose 12 names which they think are the best‚” said Kalako.

Mbuyiseni Ndlozi of the Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) objected to holding interviews for four days as this would disadvantage those being interviewed first and benefit those coming last.

He said the committee should focus on quality and not the quantity of applications.

“But I have to emphasise on the quality. I’m comfortable with the 36‚” said Ndlozi.

Isidingo actor Jack Devnarain is one of the longest running actors on the popular SABC 3 soapie, known for playing businessman Rajesh Kumar, Devnarain character is almost universally liked by fans of the show.

Devnarain graduated from the University of Natal before he served in the Police service for nine years. After all that, he returned to acting and currently serves as the chairman of the South African Guild of Actors.

You can see the full list of candidates below, will you be backing “Rajesh” to turn the SABC around?

** 1 to 5 are the members of the current interim board.

6. Ms Nomvuyiso Batyi
7. Ms Rachel Kalidass
8. Mr Thabiso Ratsomo
9. Mr Rufus Dzuguda Kharidzha
10. Mr Michael Markovitz
11. Mr William Currie
12. Mr Sandile Kama
13. Dr Deenadaylen Konar
14. Ms Harriet Meier
15. Ms Dawn Earp
16. Mr Michael Bauer
17. Judge Chris Greenland
18. Mr Desmond Golding
19. Mr Manaka Mathumo
20. Mr Victor Rambau
21. Mr Tshifhiwa Khorommbi
22. Mr Mcebo Khumalo
23. Ms Seipati Khumalo
24. Dr Thidziambi Nethengwe
25. Ms Cikizwa Dingi
26. Ms Louise Vale
27. Mr Yaasir Haffejee
28. Mr Kwanele Gumbi
29. Mr Jack Devnarian
30. Mr Bongumusa Makhathini
31. Mr Nkosana Mbokane
32. Mr Michael Sass
33. Mr Jim Matsho
34. Mr Jack Phahlane
35. Mr Dinkwanyane Mohuba
36. Ms Leanne Govindsamy

Read the full story here at The South African

About Indianspice Staff Reporter

Report and write stories for It is our ambitious goal to cover issues/events/news concerning South Africa and the diaspora.