‘Happy New Year’ In Different Indian Languages

How To Greet ‘Happy New Year’ In Different Indian Languages:

  • Assamese: Notun Bosoror (S)hubeksha Jonalu
  • Bengali Shubho Nabobarsho
  • Gujarati: Saal Mubaarak
  • Hindi: Naya Saal Mubaarak Ho
  • Kannada:  Hosa Varshadha Shubhasheyagalu
  • Kashmiri: Nav Roz Mubarak
  • Konkani: Bhagi Novem Voras / Sontosbhorith Nove Voras
  • Malayalam: Putiya Varsha Aashamsagal
  • Marathi: Naveen Varshachya Shubhechha
bengali new year

Happy New Year 2018: Greetings in Bengali! (Photo Credit: Istock)

  • Manipuri: Cheiraoba Yaifare
  • Nepali: Naya Barsha Ko Subhakamana
  • Odia: Naba Barsha Ra Hardika Shubhechha
  • Punjabi: Nave Saal Diyan Lakh Lakh Vadhaiyan
  • Sanskrit: Nav Varsh Abhinandanam
  • Sindhi: Nain Saal Joon Wadhayoon
  • Tamil: Puthaandu Valttukkal
  • Telugu: Nutana Sanvatsara Subhakanksalu
  • Urdu: Saal-e Naw Mubarak/ Naya Saal Mubarak

While Hindi is the most widely spoken language India today and serves as a bridging language in much of North and Central India; Bengali, Telugu, Marathi, Tamil, Urdu, Gujarati, Kannada, Malayalam, Odia and Punjabi are also spoken prominently in the country. 

Apart from the 18 languages listed above, Dogri, Maithili, Santali and Bodo languages were added to the 8th Schedule of the Indian Constitution. How to greet ‘Happy New Year’ in these local languages? Tell us in the comments section below.

About Indianspice Staff Reporter

Report and write stories for It is our ambitious goal to cover issues/events/news concerning South Africa and the diaspora.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *