IPL 2018: Player retentions full list

Kolkata: RCB Captain Virat Kohli appeals against KKR batsman during IPL 2017 match in Kolkata on Sunday. PTI Photo by Swapan Mahapatra(PTI4_23_2017_000162B)

As expected, the Chennai Super Kings have retained MS Dhoni. Suresh Raina and Ravindra Jadeja are the other two players retained by the Chennai Super Kings. Rajasthan Royal have retained the Australian captain Steve Smith.

Kolkata Knight Riders, however, chose to retain only two players and the names did not include Gautam Gambhir. The title-winning skipper now moves back into the player pool for the auction, later this month.

Kolkata have chosen to retain Sunil Narine and Andre Russell.

Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals were suspended from the league for two years after Gurunath Meiyappan (former Team Principal of CSK) and Raj Kundra (former co-owner of Rajasthan Royals) were found guilty of being involved in betting activities during the 2013 IPL season.

Meiyappan and Kundra have been banned from the IPL for life.

Mumbai Indians have decided to retain their captain Rohit Sharma. Mumbai Indians’ transformation from perpetual underperformers to being the most decorated team in the league started after Rohit Sharma was appointed as captain. Rohit replaced Ricky Ponting in the 2013 season and led them to their first title the same year. Their win in 2017 was their third title, the most won by any team in the league’s 10-year history. (Source: AP)

Mumbai Indians’ captain Rohit Sharma celebrates after wining the Indian Premier League (IPL) cricket final against Rising Pune Supergiant in Hyderabad, India, Sunday, May 21, 2017. (AP Photo/Tsering Topgyal)
Hardik Pandya is retained by Mumbai Indians.

Mumbai Indians retain Jasprit Bumrah. Bumrah and the Hardik Pandya played a significant role in the Mumbai Indians’ win last season. (Source: PTI)

Bengaluru : Mumbai Indians Jasprit Bumrah celebrate the wicket of Suryakumar Yadav during the IPL 10 Qualifier2 match between Kolkata Knight Riders and Mumbai Indians at Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Friday. PTI Photo by Shailendra Bhojak(PTI5_19_2017_000220A)

CSK, who are returning after a ban of two years, retain their key player Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

Ravindra Jadeja is the second player retained by CSK. 

Suresh Raina has been retained by Chennai Super Kings.

David Warner has been retained by Sunrisers Hyderabad. 

Bhuvneshwar Kumar is the second player retained by Sunrisers Hyderabad.


Indian skipper Virat Kohli has been retained by Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Kolkata: RCB Captain Virat Kohli appeals against KKR batsman during IPL 2017 match in Kolkata on Sunday. PTI Photo by Swapan Mahapatra(PTI4_23_2017_000162B)

RCB also retained AB De Villiers.

Bengaluru : Royal Challengers Bangalore AB De Villiers plays a shot during the match between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Rising Pune Supergaints at Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Sunday. PTI Photo by Shailendra Bhojak(PTI4_16_2017_000229b)

Sarfaraz Khas has also been retained by RCB for the 11th edition of IPL. 

South Africa’s Chris Morris has been retained by Delhi Daredevils. 

Rishabh Pant has been retained by Delhi Daredevils.


Delhi Daredevils also retained Shreyas Iyer at the Players Retention event in Mumbai.

Kolkata Knight Riders retain Andre Russell.

Sunil Narine has also been retained by Kolkata Knight Riders.

Kolkata:KKR batsman Sunil Narine plays a shot during 10th edition IPL Match against Kings XI Punjab in Kolkata on Thursday.PTI Photo by Swapan Mahapatra

Steven Smith is the only player retained by Rajasthan Royals.


About Indianspice Staff Reporter

Report and write stories for Indianspice.co.za. It is our ambitious goal to cover issues/events/news concerning South Africa and the diaspora.

One comment

  1. The much-awaited Indian Premier League (IPL) season is all set to take place. All the best teams. Hope the best will win.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *