Activist Swaminathan Gounden to be bestowed Order of Luthuli

Struggle icons, Kay Moonsamy and Swaminathan Gounden.

At the end of the month former African National Congress, South African Communist Party and Natal Indian Congress stalwart Swaminathan Gounden will be bestowed with the Order of Luthuli in Silver for his courage and conviction in the fight for equality.

Having played a major role in South Africa’s liberation struggle, Gounden now spends his days trying to do what he can to assist in his community. Ahead of the award, Gounden says that state recognition is a very special achievement.

South Africans and foreign nationals, who have dedicated their lives to making a difference, will be honoured with National Orders awards for their various achievements by the President Cyril Ramaphosa.

ALSO READ: The life and times of Swaminathan Gounden

National Orders are the highest awards that South Africa bestows, through the president, on citizens and members of the international community, who have contributed meaningfully towards making the country a free, democratic and successful nation.

The following South Africans and foreign nationals will receive the following orders:

The Order of Ikhamanga which recognises South African citizens who have excelled in the fields of arts, culture, literature, music, journalism and sport will be bestowed on:

In Gold

Journalist Traci Mackie
Athlete Elsa Meyer

In Silver

Cricket player Hashim Amla
Artist and Historian Omar Badsha
Boxer Eric Rishimati Baloyi
Musician Johan Botha (posthumously)
Actress Lillian Dube

Musician Hotstix Mabuse

Athlete Elana Meyer
Artist John Koenakeefe Motlhankana (posthumously)
Artist Thami Mnyele (posthumously)
Actress Advocate Nakedi Ribane
Rugby player Johan Smit
Soccer player Neil Tovey

The Order of Baobab which recognises distinguished service in the areas of community service, business and economy, science, medicine and technological innovation will be bestowed on:

In Silver

Businessman Maduke Lot Ndlovu (posthumous)

Activist Nkosinathi Freddy Ndlovu
Activist Violet Seboni

The Order of Luthuli which recognises South African citizens who have contributed to the struggle for democracy, nation-building, building democracy and human rights, justice and peace as well as for the resolution of conflict will be bestowed on the following recipients:

In Bronze

Anti-apartheid activist Ronald Bernickow (posthumously)
Anti-apartheid activist Sylvia Benjamin (posthumously)

In Silver

Anti-apartheid activist Godfrey Beck
Anti-apartheid activist Lillian Diedericks
Political activist Mary Fitzgerald (posthumously)
Writer and political activist Farid Essack
Anti-apartheid activist Swaminathan Gounden
Anti-apartheid activist Reverend Charles Hooper (posthumously)
Anti-apartheid activist Sibongile Mkhabela
Major General Keith Mokoape
Anti-apartheid activist Rahima Moosa (posthumously)
General Moreti motau
Anti-apartheid activist Zondeni Sobukwe

In Gold

Inkosi Mhlabunzima Maphumulo (posthumously)
Anti-apartheid activist Mama Dora Tamana (posthumously)

The Order of the Companions of OR Tambo which recognises friendship shown to South Africa by foreign dignitaries or heads of state and other eminent foreign persons for friendship to South Africa will be bestowed on:

In Bronze

Activist Rosita Johnson

In Silver

Ambassador Alexander Sergeevich Dsasokhov
Russian parliamentarian Vyacheslav Tetekin

In Gold

Former president of Mozambique Joaquim Chissano
Former president of Botswana Sir Ketumile Masire
Former president of Namibia Dr Samuel Daniel Nujoma

President Cyril Ramaphosa will bestow the Orders at the 24th Investiture ceremony scheduled to take place on 28 April 2018 in Pretoria.

About Indianspice Staff Reporter

Report and write stories for It is our ambitious goal to cover issues/events/news concerning South Africa and the diaspora.