SA Minister Pravin Gordhan conferred India’s Padma Vibushan award

SA Minister Pravin Gordhan conferred India’s Padma Vibushan award

#DELHI: The Padma Awards are one of the highest civilian honours of India and are announced annually on the eve of Republic Day.

The awards are given in various disciplines or fields of activities: social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc. The Padma Vibhushan is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; the Padma Bhushan for distinguished service of high order and the Padma Shri for distinguished service in any field. The awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year.

The Awards are given in three categories: Padma Vibhushan (for exceptional and distinguished service), Padma Bhushan (distinguished service of higher order) and Padma Shri (distinguished service).

According to a statement by the country’s Ministry of Home Affairs, President Ram Nath Kovind approved conferment of 112 Padma Awards including one on South Africa’s Minister Pravin Gordhan.

Gordhan has been awarded under the Padma Bhushan category for distinguished service of higher order, in the field of public affairs.

The awards were conferred by the president of India at ceremonial functions held at Rashtrapati Bhawan, the presidential home in the country, usually around March or April every year.

South African President Cyril Ramaphosa is currently in India for an official state visit and was the chief guest at India’s Republic Day celebration held yesterday.

The full list of awardees

 The list comprises 4 Padma Vibhushan, 14 Padma Bhushan and 94 Padma Shri Awards.  21 of the awardees are women and the list also includes 11 persons from the category of Foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI, 3 Posthumous awardees and 1 transgender person.

Here is the full list of awardees:

Padma Vibhushan

Ms. Teejan Bai (Art-Vocals-Folk)

Shri Ismail Omar Guelleh (Public Affairs)  Djibouti

Shri Anilkumar Manibhai Naik (Trade & Industry-Infrastructure)

Shri Balwant Moreshwar Purandare (Art-Acting-Theatre)

Padma Bhushan

Shri John Chambers (Trade & Industry-Technology)

Shri Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa (Public Affairs)

Shri Pravin Gordhan (Foreigner) for Public Affairs

Shri Mahashay Dharam Pal Gulati (Trade & Industry-Food Processing)

Shri Darshan Lal Jain (Social Work)

Shri Ashok Laxmanrao Kukade (Medicine-Affordable Healthcare)

Shri Kariya Munda (Public Affairs)

Shri Budhaditya Mukherjee (Art-Music-Sitar)

Shri Mohanlal Viswanathan Nair (Art-Acting-Film)

Shri S Nambi Narayan (Science & Engineering-Space)

Shri Kuldip Nayar (Posthumous) for Literature & Education (Journalism)

Ms. Bachendri Pal (Sports-Mountaineering)

Shri V K Shunglu (Civil Service)

Shri Hukumdev Narayan Yadav (Public Affairs)

Padma Shree

Shri Rajeshwar Acharya (Art-Vocal-Hindustani)

Shri Bangaru Adigalar(Others-Spiritualism)

Shri Illias Ali (Medicine-Surgery)

Shri Manoj Bajpayee (Art-Acting-Films)

Shri Uddhab Kumar Bharali (Science & Engineering-Grassroots Innovation)

Shri Omesh Kumar Bharti (Medicine-Rabies)

Shri Pritam Bhartwan (Art-Vocals-Folk)

Shri Jyoti Bhatt (Art-Painting)

Shri Dilip Chakravarty (Others-Archaeology)

Shri Mammen Chandy (Medicine-Hematology)

Shri Swapan Chaudhuri (Art-Music-Tabla)

Shri Kanwal Singh Chauhan

Shri Sunil Chhetri (Sports-Football)

Shri Dinyar Contractor (Art-Acting-Theatre)

Ms. Muktaben Pankajkumar Dagli (Social Work-Divyang Welfare)

Shri Babulal Dahiya (Others-Agriculture)

Shri Thanga Darlong (Art-Music-Flute)

Shri Prabhu Deva (Art-Dance)

Ms. Rajkumari Devi (Others-Agriculture)

Ms. Bhagirathi Devi (Public Affairs)

Shri Baldev Singh Dhillon (Science & Engineering-Agriculture)

Ms. Harika Dronavalli (Sports-Chess)

Ms. Godawari Dutta (Art-Painting)

Shri Gautam Gambhir (Sports-Cricket)

Ms. Draupadi Ghimiray (Social Work-Divyang Welfare)

Ms. Rohini Godbole (Science & Engineering-Nuclear)

Shri Sandeep Guleria (Medicine-Surgery)

Shri Pratap Singh Hardia (Medicine- Ophthmology)

Shri Bulu Imam (Social Work-Culture)

Ms. Friederike Irina (Foreigner) (Social Work-Animal Welfare)

Shri Joravarsinh Jadav (Art-Dance Folk)

Shri S Jaishankar (Civil Service)

Shri Narsingh Dev Jamwal (Literature & Education)

Shri Fayaz Ahmad Jan (Art-Craft-Papier Mache)

Shri K G Jayan (Art-Music-Bhakti)

Shri Subhash Kak (Foreigner) (Science & Engineering-Technology)

Shri Sharath Kamal (Sports-Table Tennis)

Shri Rajani Kant (Social Work)

Shri Sudam Kate (Medicine-Sickle Cell)

Shri Waman Kendre (Art-Acting-Theatre)

Shri Kader Khan (Posthumous-Foreigner) (Art-Acting-Films)

Shri Abdul Gafur Khatri (Art-Painting)

Shri Ravindra Kolhe and Ms. Smita Kolhe (Medicine-Affordable Healthcare)

Ms. Bombayla Devi Laishram (Sports-Archery)

Shri Kailash Madbaiya (Literature & Education)

Shri Ramesh Babaji Maharaj (Social Work-Animal Welfare)

Shri Vallabhbhai Vasrambhai Marvaniya (Others-Agriculture)

Ms. Gita Mehta (Foreigner) (Literature & Education)

Shri Shadab Mohammad (Medicine-Dentistry)

Shri K K Muhammed (Others-Archaeology)

Shri Shyama Prasad Mukherjee (Medicine-Affordable Healthcare)

Shri Daitari Naik (Social Work)

Shri Shankar Mahadevan Narayan (Art-Vocals-Films)

Shri Shantanu Narayen (Foreigner) (Trade & Industry-Technology)

Nartaki Natraj (Art-Dance-Bharatnatyam)

Shri Tsering Norboo (Medicine-Surgery)

Shri Anup Ranjan Pandey (Art-Music)

Shri Jagdish Prasad Parikh (Others-Agriculture)

Shri Ganpatbhai Patel (Foreigner) (Literature & Education)

Shri Bimal Patel (Others-Architecture)

Shri Hukumchand Patidar (Others-Agriculture)

Shri Harvinder Singh Phoolka (Public Affairs)

Ms. Madurai Chinna Pillai (Social Work-Microfinance)

Ms. Tao Porchon-Lynch (Foreigner) (Others-Yoga)

Ms. Kamala Pujhari (Others-Agriculture)

Shri Bajrang Punia (Sports-Wrestling)

Shri Jagat Ram (Medicine-Ophthalmology)

Shri R V Ramani (Medicine-Ophthalmology)

Shri Devarapalli Prakash Rao (Social Work-Affordable Education)

Shri Anup Sah (Art-Photography)

Ms. Milena Salvini (Foreigner) (Art-Dance-Kathakali)

Shri Nagindas Sanghavi (Literature & Education-Journalism)

Shri Sirivennela Seetharama Sastry (Art-Lyrics)

Shri Shabbir Sayyad (Social Work-Animal Welfare)

Shri Mahesh Sharma (Social Work-Tribal Welfare)

Shri Mohammad Hanif Khan Shastri (Literature & Education)

Shri Brijesh Kumar Shukla (Literature & Education)

Shri Narendra Singh (Others-Animal Husbandry)

Ms. Prashanti Singh (Sports-Basketball)

Shri Sultan Singh (Others-Animal Husbandry)

Shri Jyoti Kumar Sinha (Social Work-Affordable Education)

Shri Anandan Sivamani (Art-Music)

Ms. Sharada Srinivasan (Others-Archaeology)

Shri Devendra Swarup (Posthumous) (Literature & Education-Journalism)

Shri Ajay Thakur (Sports-Kabaddi)

Shri Rajeev Tharanath (Art-Music-Sarod)

Ms. Saalumarada Thimmakka (Social Work-Environment)

Ms. Jamuna Tudu (Social Work-Environment)

Shri Bharat Bhushan Tyagi (Others-Agriculture)

Shri Ramaswami Venkataswami (Medicine-Surgery)

Shri Ram Saran Verma (Others-Agriculture)

Shri Swami Vishudhananda (Others-Spiritualism)

Shri Hiralal Yadav (Art-Vocals-Folk)

Shri Venkateswara Rao Yadlapalli (Others-Agriculture)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.