Sri Lanka announces their 15-man squad for ICC Cricket World Cup

Sri Lanka Cricket on Thursday, 18 April, announced their 15-member squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup scheduled to be played in England and Wales later this year.

A day before announcing their team, Sri Lanka had appointed Dimuth Karunaratne as the ODI captain to lead the team in the World Cup, starting 30 May.

Karunaratne, who last played an ODI in the previous edition of World Cup, has only played 17 ODIs and averages 15.83 with a high score of 60. His overall List A numbers are creditable, with an average 34.34 from 120 games, including six centuries.

Sri Lankaโ€™s Squad for Cricket World Cup 2019

Dimuth Karunaratne (C), Angelo Mathews, Lasith Malinga, Kusal Perera, Lahiru Thirimanne, , Avishka Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Jeffrey Vandersay, Thisara Perera, Isuru Udana, , Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Jeevan Mendis, Milinda Siriwardana.

About Indianspice Staff Reporter

Report and write stories for It is our ambitious goal to cover issues/events/news concerning South Africa and the diaspora.