Navratri The Nine Colors and Significance

Navratri is a significant Hindu festival celebrated every year across the world. With the festival just around the corner, devotees are gearing up to celebrate the occasion with great enthusiasm, zeal and reverence.

Navratri South Africa Muzicorp and Bass Mechanics
Daily Aarti to be performed from 17th to 25 October. Muzicorp and Bass Mechanics present South Africa’s virtual Navratri 2020 season more information here

Like every other festival, there are several rituals associated with Navratri as well. One among them is wearing clothes of a specific colour every day in honour of Goddess Durga. Devotees believe that wearing that specific colour on that particular day brings good luck and prosperity.

Here’s the list of the colours assigned for each day and what it stands for:

Day 1: Colour – Orange: This year, the first day of Navratri will be celebrated with vibrant colour Orange, which stands for energy and happiness. On this day, Goddess Shailputri is worshipped.


Day 2: Colour – White: The colour for the second day of the festival is White, which symbolises peace and purity. On this day, Goddess Brahmacharini is worshipped.

Day 3: Colour – Red: This year, colour Red is to be worn on the third day. Goddess Chandraghanta is worshipped on this day. She is also known as Chandika or Rannchandi.

Contact S.Moodley Attorneys today for quality & affordable representation.

Day 4: Colour – Royal Blue: This year, the colour for the fourth day is Royal Blue. On this day, devotees seek blessings from Goddess Kushmanda. She is believed to improve health and bestow wealth and strength.

Day 5: Colour – Yellow: The colour Yellow is being dedicated for the fifth day, this year. Yellow stands for happiness, brightness and power. Goddess Skandamata is worshipped on this day.

Day 6: Colour – Green: The sixth day of Navratri honours Goddess Katyayani. Green, which is considered to be the colour of new beginnings and growth, has been chosen for this day.


Day 7: Colour – Grey: The seventh day of Navratri is also known as Saptami. On this day, devotees will go Grey and worship Goddess Kalaratri.

Day 8: Colour – Purple: Also known as Ashtami, the eighth day of Navratri is dedicated to Goddess Mahagauri. She is believed to bless devotees with intelligence and peace. This year, the colour for this day is Purple.

Day 9: Colour – Peacock Green: The last day of Navratri is dedicated to Goddess Siddhidhatri, who is believed to fulfill all the divine aspirations of the devotees. Several pujas and rituals are performed on this day and only for this year, the colour to be worn on the last day is Peacock Green.

For your ultimate Navratri resource guide tap here

Showcasing the identity of the South African Indian as we remember the story of the arrival of Indian-indenture 160 years ago to the shores of South Africa. The SA Indian community of South Africa are uniquely African and so are their stories. Submit your piece of history to us for a feature click here

📣 Follow Indian Spice on TwitterInstagramFacebookTelegramTikTok and on YouTube, and stay updated with the latest South African Indian news and international Indian news.

The global lockdown has everyone’s mental health in a spin! Have you checked out our Mental Health resources by Indian Spice click here

The South African Depression And Anxiety Group (SADAG) is Africa’s largest mental health support and advocacy group open 7 days a week from 8 am – 8 pm. If you need a referral to a psychologist, psychiatrist or support group call SADAG on 011 234 4837 or 0800 20 50 26 and speak to a trained counsellor who can assist. Substance abuse hotline: 0800 12 13 14 is available 24hrs or alternatively email Zane on

Mental health India Helplines: Aasra: 022 2754 6669; Sneha India Foundation: +914424640050 and Sanjivini: 011-24311918

Stay at home if you feel unwell. If you have a fever, cough and difficulty breathing, seek medical attention and call in advance. Connect with the Coronavirus Whatsapp services below

Connect with the Coronavirus Whatsapp services below

  • Coronavirus India Whatsapp tap here
  • Coronavirus South Africa Whatsapp tap here
  • SA Hotline Number: 0800 029 999

For more related coronavirus (COVID-19) latest news and stories click here

About Indianspice Staff Reporter

Report and write stories for It is our ambitious goal to cover issues/events/news concerning South Africa and the diaspora.