Durban journalists win big at Vodacom Journalist of the Year awards

Yasantha Naidoo with Suthentira Govender, Nivashni Nair-Sukhdev, Lwandile Bhengu and Orrin Singh.

#DURBAN: eNCA’s Dasen Thathiah and Tiso Blackstar’s Nivashni Nair-Sukhdev were among some of the Indian-origin recipients of this years Vodacom Journalist of the Year awards regional category.

The 2019 Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards drew more than 1,000 entries from across South africa. This year’s theme, ‘Connect the Dots’, pays tribute to intrepid and fine journalism that has taken up the challenge to reflect on issues that expose flaws in, and supports, South Africa’s democracy.

eNCA’s Dasen Thathiah bagged the award in the category of Lifestyle/Features for Rescue Mission in Mozambique and The Spotlight on Ukuthwala. Contributors were Susanna Holmes, Francois Grobler and Nkanyiso Mdlalose.

In the category of Live reporting/breaking news Thathiah was recognized for giving a face to human tragedy, treating victims with sensitivity, taking audiences to the scene, working around the clock and handling all breaking stories with a passion for ethical reporting, factual, and accurate reporting. Contributors were Nkanyiso Mdlalose and Francois Grobler.

In his tweet earlier eNCA’s roving journo said,

Two wins, for live reporting and features, at the #VJOY19 in KZN. Love this team! #eNCA

Dasen Thathiah,Twitter

Nivashni Nair-Sukhdev also scooped two awards in the categories of Multi-platform & Opinion along with fellow journalists Orrin Singh, Suthentira Govender & Lwandile Bhengu of Tiso-Blackstar.

Nivashni Nair-Sukhdev reflected on the many questions raised by a relationship with Penny Sparrow. It was her personal outpouring in her opinion piece that Times Select article Penny for my Thoughts that secured her win.

Yasantha Naidoo of Tiso-Blackstar tweeted,

So proud to work with this Durban team. Two #VJOY19 wins: @orrin417@SuthentiraG@NivashniNair@Lwandi_N in the Multiplatform category and @NivashniNair for moving column on Penny Sparrow. @TimesLIVE@SundayTimesZA@TimesSelect


In the category of Multi-platform journalism that is defined as covering stories that need ongoing reporting of detail, visual coverage of unfolding events, and prompt use of social media to keep the public informed. The winner for this was a group-reporting titled Durban’s Easter rain of terror by Nivashni Nair, Orrin Singh, Lwandile Bhengu, and Suthentira Govender from Tiso-Blackstar’s Sunday Times and TimesLive.

East Coast Radio’s Myron Naicker scooped the award for his multimedia coverage of the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup in the sports category.


About Indianspice Staff Reporter

Report and write stories for It is our ambitious goal to cover issues/events/news concerning South Africa and the diaspora.